Marathon Training – Week 5

This was a low mileage week for me. With only two runs scheduled and neither one being a long run, I felt at a bit of a loose end on most days….However, Saturday was something else!

[ Week 5 | 10 Weeks until Edinburgh! ]

Monday – Rest Day.

I always enjoy my Monday rest day. Legs are always a bit achey after the Sunday long run so the rest is appreciated.

Tuesday – Steady 8.5 miles, 8:40 min/mile.

Started off nice and slow for the first couple of miles but my legs were feeling strong. Decided to push up the pace and ran the next 6 miles at 8:00 min/mile.
This is the first time in about a year that I’ve ran this pace over a significant distance and the best thing was that it didn’t feel overly tough.

Wednesday – Rest day.

Legs aren’t aching at all today which I thought they might be after yesterday’s run.

Thursday – Rest day.

Second rest day in a row. Feels very odd not being out for a run tonight but im sure with the increase in mileage next week, I’ll be appreciating the rest.

Friday – Cross-Training. Climbing

Another evening spent at the indoor climbing wall. Looking forward to the clocks changing so that I can start getting out onto real rock after work.

Saturday – Fell Run. 6.5 miles, 1136ft Elevation

Today was spectacular. The weather was perfect, it was the hottest day of the year so far. Blue skies, no wind. You couldn’t have asked for more.
To make it even better though, was what I was doing today. Today I was fell-running with Ricky Lightfoot. Ricky is a Salmon sponsored fell-runner based in Cumbria and, in partnership with George Fisher, a group of us got to go running with him.

I’m not going into too much deatil here as I will stick a run-report up in the next few days. Needless to say though, it was a fantastic day out and a really enjoyable run.

Run With Ricky

Sunday – Cross Training. Climbing.

The weather was spectacular again today so my girlfriend and I, and one of our friends, headed to a local crag and spent the afternoon climbing until the sun went down.

Spring lambs joining us for a spot of climbing

Planned miles for the week – 15
Actual miles for the week – 15

Although this was a low mileage week compared to the last few, the combination of the weather and Saturday’s fell run made it one of the most enjoyable weeks I’ve had since last summer (I like the warmth).

Trail Running or Road Running?

Leave a Reply

