Carlisle Santa Dash

I’ve been a bit lazy on the running the past few weeks. We’re into the Winter competition time for climbing now so this has drawn my focus temporarily.

However, even with most of my time being spent climbing, I did manage to get one race in over the weekend….and it was a bit different from anything else I’ve entered. Mainly because I was dressed like this:

wp_20161211_09_41_28_pro
And so were the other 600 people who were taking part….

15349729_1000639120042580_5406929114095182554_n
This is the Carlisle Santa Dash. Each year hundreds of Santas take to the streets of Carlisle to run a 5k for charity. It’s a fantastic event and sees loads of spectators (especially with young children) coming to watch and cheer you along with a “Ho, Ho, Ho” or a “Did you forget your reindeer?”.

It’s a fairly surreal experience being stood at the starting line with so many people who all look identical. I didn’t recognise a single one of my club members even though I know they were there, somewhere.

It’s also not a race you’re going to get a PB on. Needless to say, running in a full Santa suit, complete with fake beard, is rather warm. Even in winter. However, this isn’t the point of this particular race. It’s all about the atmosphere and being part of something truly unique.

One thing that really surprised me was how generous this race was. As a stark comparison to my last race (you can read about that here), the Santa Dash was fantastic value! For your entry fee of £12 you get a full Santa suit, a medal, and tons of mince pies, biscuits and cups of tea at the finish. I was also lucky enough to be one of the first few over the finish line so won myself a nice New Balance boot bag too.

I can’t recommend this race enough for both new and experienced runners. It really was a fantastic way to spend a Sunday morning!

One thought on “Carlisle Santa Dash

  1. Pingback: So I Signed up for a Marathon… | Eastlake Running

Leave a Reply

